For most people, a speeding ticket is nothing more than a pain in the neck and a financial headache. However, in some situations, speeding in Ohio can have far more dire consequences, such as a misdemeanor conviction and jail time. FindLaw explains when you may have to serve jail time for speeding.
In most states, the courts consider excessive speeding — which refers to speeding in excess of 15-20 miles per hour over the posted speed limit — as reckless driving, which is a crime. This is because state lawmakers view reckless driving as a willful and wanton disregard for the safety of others. If you receive a reckless driving offense for the first time and without any other violations on your record, the Ohio courts may simply charge you a fine. However, if this is your second offense in one year, you may have to serve jail time.
Speeding near a school or other restricted zone may also land you in jail. In Arkansas, speeding in a school zone results in a one to 10-day jail sentence. This is the case even for first-time offenders.
If you do not have a valid driver’s license and an officer stops you for speeding, you may have to serve jail time. If the courts are lenient on you, your punishment may still be greater than the standard fine.
If you fail to show up for your court date or to pay your ticket, the courts may sentence you to a few days in jail. Your failure to cooperate may also result in enhanced penalties and additional fines.
In Ohio, if you have multiple speeding or other criminal convictions on your record, you may have to serve some jail time. If you get three speeding tickets in a single year, the state may sentence you to up to 30 days of incarceration.
This article is for educational purposes only. You should not use it as legal advice.