If you face DWI charges in Ohio, this is a serious matter indeed. Not only does a conviction place your freedom at risk for a considerable length of time, but you can also wind up having to pay substantial fines and court costs.
The Garfield Heights Municipal Court explains that per the Ohio Revised Code, DWI goes by the name of OVI; that is, operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. Depending on the precise charge against you and whether or not you have received similar convictions in the past, an OVI can be a first-class misdemeanor or a third- or fourth-class felony.
First conviction penalties
Penalties for a first-time OVI conviction where your BAC test registered relatively low for alcohol or drugs in your system include the following:
- From three days to six months in jail
- A fine of from $375 to $1,076
- The possible loss of your driver’s license for 15 days
Should you refuse to take the BAC test or your BAC registered relatively high, your first conviction penalties include a minimum jail sentence of six days. Your maximum jail time, fine and loss of driving privileges are the same as those associated with a “simple” OVI conviction.
Subsequent conviction penalties
Not surprisingly, the penalties increase with each OVI conviction you receive. If you become a repeat offender, you could face upwards of five years in prison, a fine of $10,500, and forfeiture of your vehicle.
This is general educational information and not intended to provide legal advice.