Rather than using the term DUI or DWI, Ohioans now refer to drinking and driving citations and laws as OVI or operating a vehicle under the influence. As with a DUI or DWI, there are various consequences and penalties that drivers face when they get behind the wheel of a car after drinking or doing drugs.
According to FindLaw, the blood alcohol concentration limit in Ohio is 0.08 or higher and if you are driving while visibly intoxicated, you may be pulled over by a law enforcement officer. When you are pulled over, if you have any controlled substance in your body such as methamphetamine, heroin, cocaine or marijuana, then driving is a violation of the law.
The legal limits in Ohio change based on age. Those under 21 cannot have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.02 percent or higher, while commercial drivers must stay under 0.04 percent. If you are 21 years or older, your blood alcohol level is illegal once it hits 0.08 or higher.
A police officer can pull you over even if they do not know your blood alcohol concentration if they are concerned you are driving under the influence. They may also perform field sobriety tests to determine your sobriety.
Penalties for OVI include court costs and fees, alcohol monitoring systems and fines ranging from just a few hundred dollars to tens of thousands. Violators may also face prison or jail time of anywhere from three day to 15 years. You may be asked to undergo a drivers’ intervention program, an alcohol and drug treatment program or have your license suspended or revoked.
This information is intended for educational purposes and should not be interpreted as legal advice.