Can I lose my CDL due to a DUI charge?

Oct 19, 2019 | drunk driving

Operating a commercial vehicle requires a CDL in Ohio. However, there are many ways you can lose that hard-earned commercial driver’s license. One of the main ways you can cause your license to be suspended is by driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

The Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles having any detectable amount of alcohol while driving a commercial motor vehicle can result of a suspension of 24 hours for both first and second offenses. Operating any vehicle while under the influence of either alcohol or a controlled substance results in a one-year suspension if you are a first-time offender and a lifetime suspension for a subsequent offense.

The BMV can test you for alcohol content based on a urine, blood and breath test. A urine test 0.056 or greater, blood test 0.048 or greater and breath test 0.04 or greater can result in a one-year suspension for your first offense. Keep in mind that a one-year suspension can extend to three years if the commercial vehicle you are driving has hazardous materials inside.

Using any vehicle for the dispensation, manufacturing or distribution of controlled substances with intent can result in your license suspended for one year. A felony conviction regarding controlled substances on top of driving under the influence can cause additional issues with your license along with other potential penalties.

The BMV does allow you to appeal the disqualification of your license within 30 days of the mailed notice. You receive a final order ten days later but can appeal the decision through the Court of Common Pleas either with an attorney or by yourself.