Keeping people safe on the roads is a top priority in Ohio. The state takes a hard stance against anyone who is caught breaking the law. This includes issuing disqualifications if you hold a commercial driver’s license. If you receive a CDL disqualification, according to the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles, it means you have a suspended license.
The suspension depends on the situation. It could be as little as 24 hours. On the other hand, it could last a lifetime. For most disqualifications, you must wait out the suspension and then pay a fee to get your privileges back.
You are not allowed to drive a commercial vehicle at all while under disqualification. In most cases, this may extend to your regular driver’s license as well. Do note that you may lose your CDL privileges for something you do behind the wheel of non-commercial vehicles. For example, if you are in your personal vehicle and you refuse to take a blood alcohol test, you will lose both licenses for one year for the first time. For all suspensions, the length of the disqualification increases with subsequent convictions. If you have a HAZMAT certification, you may have additional penalties, such as losing your certification.
Do note that some suspensions may go into effect immediately while others require a conviction. A conviction includes a ruling from a judge, signing a waiver or pleading no contest. You do have the right to appeal with the Bureau in Columbus within 30 days of a disqualification. This information is for education and is not legal advice.